Advertising (member-to-member)

LEADR members now have the opportunity to advertise their courses to other members in the LEADR "What's On Calendar".

View the rates, and terms and conditions of advertising below.


Log in to the members only section to view. Forgotten your password? Follow the prompts in the members only section to get a new password.

Mediator of the Year Award

Media Release: 2 November 2012

LEADR NZ congratulates Geoff Sharp, winner of the "Mediator of the Year" Award announced at the NZ Law Awards last night. Read article.

(NZ Law Awards held 1 November 2012. www.lawawards.co.nz)

Winners list

International commercial mediation competition

The International Chamber of Commerce - International Commercial Mediation Competition is to be held on 8-13 February 2013 in Paris, France.

Law students from 66 universities around the world face complex, international business problems which they attempt to resolve by mediation with the world’s best mediators.

Auckland Law School has been accepted into the 2013 competition and will be sending a team of three law students to Paris (expenses paid). This will be the first ever team from New Zealand.

LEADR NZ is looking forward to supporting the team in their preparation for the competition. View the youtube video here.

Submission: Encouraging the early resolution of family disputes

REVIEWING THE FAMILY COURT - AMINZ / LEADR NZ submission:  29 February 2012.

General Background:

The Family Court review document identifies that decisions made through participative processes such as mediation are generally more self-sustaining. 

The Ministry of Justice has identified the need to develop future policy which, particularly in regard to the early resolution of private law matters, would contribute to:
  • increasing the resolution of private law disputes out of court
  • responding to children’s interests;
  • supporting a sustainable family justice system.
This paper examines the potential of high quality mediation to enable and empower families to make sound and self sustaining decisions for themselves and their families.


LEADR NZ Dispute Resolution Prizes

LEADR NZ is delighted to announce the names of the university students who are winners of the LEADR NZ Dispute Resolution prizes for 2011. They are:

University of Auckland - Waldo Randal

University of Waikato - Rebecca Catley

Victoria University of Wellington - Kate Neilson

University of Canterbury - to be advised

University of Otago - to be advised

The Faculty of Law at each univeristy chose the winners as "the most outstanding student" in final year dispute resolution or negotiation papers. The purpose of the prizes is to reward and encourage law students to take a real interest in alternative dispute resolution. Each student wins a prize of $600 cash. LEADR NZ has awarded the prizes each year since 2002.


Board Members

LEADR NZ Board 2011 - 2013

Click  here for the names of those individuals who were confirmed as board members at the LEADR NZ AGM on 3 October 2011.  The Chair and Vice Chair appointments were made by the board at their first meeting held on 27 October 2011.


Mark Beech, Chair: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Anna Quinn, Vice Chair: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Richard Goodall, Treasurer: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Jan Avery: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Jon Everest: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Annabel James: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Nina Khouri: tba
Carol Powell: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Mediation and the Civil Justice System

Justice Winkelmann highlights some important issues in her recent address regarding mediation and the civil justice system (NZ Lawyer, 12 August 2011).

LEADR Executive Officer, Gabrielle O'Brien responds (NZ Lawyer 26 August 2011).  Read more.

LEADR Awards 2011 - winners

The inaugural LEADR NZ National Awards event was held in Auckland on 16 June 2011.
Hosted by Bell Gully, the event brought together a wide range of professionals from the mediation community who were entertained to a thought provoking discussion with Geoff Sharp, LEADR Fellow “in conversation” with the US Ambassador to New Zealand and Samoa, David Huebner.
Winners of the LEADR NZ Awards 2011 were:
Award for the most Creative use of Alternative Dispute Resolution:
Warren Sowerby, Bankside Chambers
Commended by the judging panel for his significant contribution to transforming the use and practice of mediation in New Zealand to become a significant and mainstream part of commercial life and legal practice.
Award for Mentoring and Development of others in Alternative Dispute Resolution:
Carol Powell, Mediator and Barrister
Recognised for her outstanding contribution in demonstrating genuine commitment and support through mentoring and development of other mediators, assisting them to grow in confidence in their ADR role.
Award for achievement by an Emerging Mediator:
Joel Pearce, Electricity and Gas Complaints Commission
Mediating for less than 5 years, Joel was recognised by the judging panel for his dedication to ADR, both academically and in his professional work. His enthusiasm to get involved and make a difference was especially noted.
Award for the Law firm making the biggest contribution to the promotion of Alternative Dispute Resolution:
Bell Gully
Acknowledged for their support of the introduction of mediation into the legal process from the early days and was commended for its support to LEADR NZ in providing facilities for training and networking over a number of years to support those wishing to increase their skills and knowledge in this area.
Award for the Development of Alternative Dispute Resolution in the fields of Community and/or Restorative Justice:
Joint Winners:
Tim Clarke, Mediator ‘Out of Court’
Commended for his dedication and energy in ensuring that restorative justice was established and recognised for its worth in New Zealand. The panel was impressed by his vision and leadership in assisting in setting up the Tauranga Moana Restorative Justice Trust and his involvement with over 30 community groups.
Helen Bowen and Jim Boyack, The New Zealand Restorative Justice Trust
Commended by the panel for their enormous contribution, including the founding of the New Zealand Restorative Justice Trust,  providing training, education and support to other restorative justice groups and for their work internationally.
Acknowledgement was also made of the contribution of those who worked so hard to establish ADR in New Zealand with particular thanks to David Williams QC and Miriam Dean QC who were instrumental in establishing LEADR in New Zealand.

'kon gres 2011 - feedback on LEADR Australasian Conference


'kon gres 2011

11th LEADR ADR Conference, Brisbane 7-9 September 2011 Feedback